Here Comes The Sun!

Vienna didn’t experience a proper, picturesque winter this year – everything remained in a weird limbo.  The lawn hung somewhere between tan and brown waiting for the blanket of pure, white snow that never came. The dull grey-brown, leafless branches of trees scratched at the grey, cloudy skies as if searching for the sun.  If the sun bothered to show up, it would retire around 3 or 4pm – everything was just depressive, ugly, and boring.

Then one day in mid-March, the sun seemed to change its mind – the grey blanket of clouds that seemed to enrobe the city parted and the warm rays stayed around later and later each day.  The warmer temperatures and stronger light whispered to the trees which almost instantaneously popped out leafbuds as the grass began to color and grow again.  Shortly before March 19- 21 (also known as the Vernal Equinox), Hubby and I decided to get started in preparation.  I guess, between the litter of tabbed garden books that followed me from room to room,  the proliferation of new pots on our terrace, and my non-stop chatter with just anyone who’d listen about my observations from last year and plans for this;  he just capitulated.

Perhaps ‘surrendered’ is too strong a term, for he gave distinct instructions as to which harvests he enjoyed and MUST be replanted this year, lol.  Over the weekend, we remodeled the layout, enriched soils, discovered plants that I’d sworn had given up the ghost, and welcomed a few new inhabitants.  Although it was back-breaking work (our hot bubble bath soak after certainly helped – this is why bathtubs are important!), we were definitely pleased with the results.  You’re welcome to take a stroll through our garden remodel via the slideshow below.  Let me know what you think!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

