Rediscovering the Naschmarkt

One of my first girl-trips with Oma and M1 (hubby’s mother) was to the Naschmarkt – a well-known and -loved mecca for foodies in Vienna.  In mid-summer of last year it was crowded, hot, and very foreign (so much German, so little understanding); while I was very confused and ghastly uncomfortable (I can’t stand to sweat as I get terrible heat-rashes).

Recently, on a pretty cold and gray not-quite-Spring afternoon, I rediscovered this delightful, gastronomic street.  Located on Linke Wienzeille between Karlsplatz and Kettenbrückegasse Ubahnstationen (subway stations), the Naschmarkt is 1.5 meters long (about 2 or 3 NYC blocks) and features food from practically everywhere and really cool sidewalk restaurants.

In retrospect, it’s incredible that although I visit Cafe Dreschler at least twice a month, which is across the street the Markt (as my friends and I call it); it’s only recently that I took the time to re-enter and re-discover all the joys it holds.  Featuring everything from exotic spices, dried fruits/nuts, and hand-made soaps to farm-fresh, local breads, meats and cheeses; the Markt is my go-to spot!  Like a giddy child, I snapped up soy sauce and castor oil by the liter along with an ounce of saffron (love those vivid red stigmas!) and considered the irony;  this was what the ‘girls’ (Oma & M1) were trying to teach me only a mere 9 months ago! 🙂

Here’s a few snaps I captured on that happy afternoon of the Naschmarkt and it’s surrounding streets.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in Sights and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rediscovering the Naschmarkt

  1. mimie says:

    Very nice posting! I often re-disover this place too, mostly because I think it is too crowded, to touristy and too “hip” (this is where the cool crowd hangs out in summertime) when the sun is shining so I don’t go to often. But when I do, I love it! Not long ago I tweeted (I was at Naschmarkt for breakfast at Tewa, very good): When you feel an urge for stuffed olives at 9 in the morning, you know that you are at Naschmarkt 🙂

    Love
    Emilie

    Ps: Subway station = Ubahnstation. Bahnhof is more used for train stations 🙂 I love how to use german words so often in your postings, embracing the language.

    • Opps, thanks for the heads-up on the mistake, lol! Yes, it certainly is too crowded and hot in the summer but awesome in the cooler months. The cool crowds huh, I don’t see what’s so cool about a non-climate-controlled environment; guess I still have some adapting to do. 🙂

  2. Hej from Sweden !
    Great post and I loved the slide show! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

