“I Really Want Korean!”

Ever get those cravings for something exotic or unusual?  Well, the other day I was really in the mood for Korean food.  We used to hit our neighborhood Korean spot at least every two months in NYC and yum, was it an experience!  My favorite memory is of the barbeque in the middle of the table where fresh beef was cooked by a super friendly chef/waiter and tons of little side dishes threatened to collapse the table.

I’m not going to say that Austria doesn’t have a decent Korean restaurant because every time I form a ‘solid’ opinion about what is or isn’t here, a week later, Austria proves me wrong.  Yet, as I’m still trawling the city for my perfect spots, I resorted to my usual DIY modus operandi and found a quick and amazingly tasty meal on my ‘tried-and-true’ foodie site (www.FoodNetwork.com).

Although I was required to do some shopping for my experiment – Kimchee (also known as Korean gochujang paste), peanut oil, and scallions – all of which I found in my neighborhood International Foodstore at pretty decent prices; a freezer ‘clear out’ was also in the work.  The calamari purchased the week before were put to good use, the beans were swapped for green peas, and corn found buried in there were included.  I swapped out the sushi rice for brown rice because, given that I’m not going to try making sushi at home, when else am I really going to use sushi rice?

My efforts at Korean Calamari were so good (believe me, this dish is super tasty) that I made it twice within a month’s time.  A quick note, if you’re going to make this dish, prep (ie. chop/dice/slice/mix) everything before you heat the oil because it moves fast!

Mahlzeit!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “I Really Want Korean!”

  1. Karen says:

    I have to say that I am happy to have discovered your blog.

  2. Hej from Sweden!
    Yes I know exactly what you mean! I can make all my familiar dishes but have been compelled to try my favorites of which I can not find here in Sweden. At least not in my little neck of the woods. I have a great recipe for Egg Foo Yong, General Tao’s Chicken, Orange Chicken and my favorite Chocolate Cake ! I am kept really busy with my goats but there is always energy left to cook and I love to cook and I love to EAT ! The challenge is to find all the ingredients I need. When my husband goes to NY in 2 months, I have a list for him. When I visit my daughter in London, I take a list. I am covered. And I have found some wonderful recipes.
    Sometimes you crave what is not available; if you can cook half the battle is won! Happy cooking and eating.
    Welcome back to my blog. We will be having babies in May and I hope to be launching my new business.

    • So true – if you can cook, half the battle is won. So glad my mom introduced me to cooking at 7, as today, if I know what it’s supposed to taste like, I can imitate almost any dish.
      Ohh, babies, I’m there!

Leave a Reply

