Spring Always Seems To Fly By

The last month and a half just sped by and although I haven’t posted, I did document.  Most things have been a success so far but a few casualties did occur.  I’m still in awe of how quickly everything’s grown and that the seeds I started actually became plants.  It’s just so cool!

April

The seedlings just needed to go outside; there was no place to really support their healthy growth, so I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best.

Early May

Between the quickly warming days and the generally warmer micro-climate of my garden, we got some early harvests.  Honestly, the best we’ve ever had!  I’m definitely going to overwinter our spinach and rucola again next year.  I’ll attempt it again with the chard and artichoke (if they survive this summer) but with a nice bedding of mulch.  Last year’s artichoke rotted due to excess moisture & freezing; while the chard went to seed.

Mid May

There’s something about spring that makes me go a little crazy.  As soon as things warm up and a little green shows, I’m off – tucking new plants in every cranny I can.  Once again, I overcrowded (despite my SFG planning).  Succumbing to desire & despair that my own wouldn’t sprout (old seeds), I bought lettuce seedlings.  A pallet of what I assumed were 6, turned out to be 12 and without thought, I popped them all in one square foot – bad!!  Oh well, we’ll have to eat them as they grow.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Always Seems To Fly By

  1. Your garden looks terrific! It looks like you’re using every inch of space you have to make your world a little more colorful.

    • Oh, thanks so very much! Yes, it is a small garden and folks keep saying they’re amazed at how much is growing in there. My problem is ensuring that I don’t crowd the plants but I do push them to their limit and take advantage of every possible opportunity.
      Thanks so much for visiting and commenting!

Leave a Reply

