Another Week, A Million Lessons!

If it was possible to do everything wrong….I did! First, let it be known…I fell into raising plants from seedlings…seriously, I had no idea what I was doing, was resistant (see last post), and the results speak for themselves. The poor plants suffered and died.  I, on the other hand learned the meaning behind the term ‘Damping Off‘.  Remember I mentioned a mold on my plants; well that’s a fungus that’s killing my babies.  There’s no cure for it & once one has it, it spreads like wildfire through the air… they all ended in the trash.

IMG_3990

That white stuff on the pods is one the fungi that kills plants – jointly known as ‘Damping Off’.

A bleach bath for the containers, watering systems, everything that I would be using again, and again we try.  Knowing I was behind schedule and that the spring plants could stand an early planting, I started with the summer squashes & melons.  Within a couple days, the zucchinis and melon sprouted. IMG_3991 Granted the previous weekend was wonderful, so great that I brought all the plants outside to enjoy the sun and the unusually warm temperatures…in the hopes that the bright light would wake a few of them up from their winter sleep and just do everyone a world of good.

IMG_4022

The over-wintered Hibiscus,

IMG_4023

and Bouganvillea…pray for them. Technically, they were supposed to go dormant over the winter, they look dead to me.

Here’s a few other shots of the garden waking up and enjoying the wonderful spring day. Last Fall, I decided I wanted to do something with this area of the garden.  It’s cool, stays damp, won’t grow a proper covering of grass in the corners, and is difficult to mow – we decided on Winter – early Summer bulbs.

Here’s how the rest are getting on…

And a full-view.

Now back to adventures in raising plants from seed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’re starting from seed; here’s a bit of info I found that helped (after the fact) that may save you from the trauma of losing your babies and having to start again like I did.

And finally, one of the biggest sacrifices ever!  This lily was purchased on Thursday for a friend’s birthday party (it was on Saturday evening).  I housed it in my office/closet and everyday, upon waking up and also upon returning home, its scent would permeate the entire apartment – it’s sooooo lovely.  I was really tempted to keep it but decided if I’m meant to have one, when I go back to the store, one’ll be there waiting on me.  Trust when I say, this is better than any airfreshner! IMG_4025

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Week, A Million Lessons!

  1. pamsyarns says:

    It’s all part of the fun. Seeing what survives and what doesn’t! If everything we planted flourished every single time, I guess it might get a bit boring. At least that’s the thought I try to console myself with when disaster strikes!

    • I get where you’re coming from and I walk the path alongside yours. One can do everything right and still not “succeed” – this happens in all areas of life (i.e. at work, in relationships, etc). There are a number of factors outside of my realm of control and one must learn to adjust to new realities.
      I apply that to my plants – giving them the best I can (while continuing to research and adjust) but if/when disaster strikes – observe, adjust, learn.
      Granted, this is just my hobby; someone who’s livelihood relies on a successful cultivation would consider this craziness.

  2. jpennerzook says:

    Your photography is enchanting and your whimsical comments a breath of fresh air! Venturing into gardening is courageous indeed! Applause!

Leave a Reply

