Summer Has Left Austria

A month ago, I said goodbye to the last of the spring harvest and looked forward to enjoying our summer fruit.  With the erroneous concept that the garden was self-sufficient, Hubs and I took off for a week on our first real vacation since I arrived in Austria.  What we discovered upon return was fascinating.

Some things flourished, came to fruition, and began to out-compete their neighbors for resources.

Some found the fight a bit too hard, while others ‘caught their second wind’ as we faced an invasion from the neighbors – amazing what obstacles plants will overcome to get what they need, isn’t it?!

But let’s not forget the most important part – the harvest & tasting!  While I delight in observing the plants’ interaction and reaction with their environment, Hubs is focused on the ROI – how big, how much, how tasty!

In the weeks since our return, there’ve been additional harvests and growth but the most worrying variable has been the weather.  Austria summer is unpredictable, for lack of a better word.  The sweet pepper plant was laden with young fruit and blossoms – all but four of which were lost to a cold snap.  The hibiscus showed its displeasure via yellowing and falling leaves.  I have no idea if the sweet potatoes will have a decent harvest this year, despite a much bigger and deeper pot.  One just never knows and currently, we’ve got decidly Fall temps at the moment.  However, rather than worrying about what can not be changed or influenced, we’re enjoying ‘the here and now’ and considering what (and when) we’ll put in our Fall plants.

Here’s how the garden looks now and a bit of what we’ve been enjoying.

 

 

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Summer Has Left Austria

  1. jeannie says:

    Your garden looks fabulous! Regarding the Black Russians, I am growing blue beauties and they become blue when exposed to the sun, it’s red where the sun doesn’t hit. This might be the case with the Black Russians.

    • Thank you; can’t take credit though, it seems to do best the furthest I’m away from it, lol!
      Interesting thought concerning the tomatoes; may have to trim a few leaves to test that theory. I’m still strongly considering going back to the Green Tiger from last year because of the crisp texture & uniformity of the fruit.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Jose Sola says:

    What an amazing production. You keep on saying it is a small garden, but you have gotten a quite impressive harvest. Love your peppers, and the photos are fantastic.

  3. Marsha says:

    I’m also amazed at the amount you harvest from a small city garden – and those salads look so fresh I’m inspired for my own dinner tonight! Hope the vacation was good. I have family visiting at the moment, and the weather where we are (Seattle) is amazing, but I still feel the need for a change of scene and, fingers crossed, there’s time to fit one in during the next month or so. Hope yours was fun and refreshing!

    • Hi Marsha, apologies for the late response and thank you for the compliments. The vacation was great but I’ve had a major life change and serious connectivity problems that meant the garden & blog were neglected – still life is great! Our weather is definitively Fall-ish and we’ve already started considering over-wintering plans. I don’t think I’ll have time this year for a Fall garden/harvest but once I get a handle on everything, I’ll be ready for Spring!

  4. londoncab53 says:

    Beautiful! I’m at the point in summer where I don’t want to do the work anymore and my mind is on autumn. Your tomatoes are gorgeous. Most of mine have the black bottom problem which I’ve heard is from uneven watering. I rarely get a good tomato crop though, not enough sun. Are you able to can any of your harvest?
    Linda

    • Hi Linda, sorry for the late reply (major connectivity problems here). I don’t can (as yet) but I do remove the skins and freeze them for later use.

      • londoncab53 says:

        My cousin in England has a hard time getting the canning supplies that we take for granted in the states. Food preservation has become a huge trend again here. I freeze quite a bit as well and hope to get a chest freezer to do more.

  5. islanticity says:

    Hello…I’m a fellow Bahamian and I’m thinking about moving to Austria next year…can I ask you a few questions please?

  6. Roni says:

    that all looks SO DELISH!

Leave a Reply

