The Weird Gap between Spring & Summer Harvests

We’ve hit mid-July and the garden is still alive.  There’ve been no major setbacks – outside of the Okra, which I believe are stunted due to poor placement on my behalf and unstable weather.  There hasn’t been any harvesting of the summer crops yet but what the spring crops we have harvested have been delicious.

Someone got to enjoy them before we did!

Someone got to enjoy them before we did!

Radishes have done fairly well and only two were lost to slug attack.  During a two-day period of rain, I removed the pot from it’s elevated spot in it’s tray and placed it on the ground to allow for better drainage.  Two days later when the sun returned, several ‘adorable’ nibbles were noticeable.  Still, we managed to have enough for snacks and salads.

 

The spinach and romaine lettuces are done as well too.  They started to get really tall, which is a sign that they’re getting ready to produce seeds.  With all the plant’s energy being diverted to seed production, the leaves will start to get bitter and stringy.  So after harvesting the last of the leaves, I cut the stem at ground level, leaving the roots to decompose within the soil (returns nutrients to the soil) and ‘chopped and dropped’ the stems onto the soil.  They will mulch the soil as they rot and return nutrients.  The tomato plant growing in the same pot is very happy for their contribution.

The only leafy green available in our garden now, the Rainbow Chard,  was harvested for the first time this summer.  As I tend to harvest in the morning cool, their intense dark green and maroon leaves veined with yellow, orange, pink, and red provided a unique (and in my opinion, beautiful) bouquet throughout the day.

That evening, to accompany a dinner of steak & pasta, I sauteed the chard – including stems – just as one would spinach.  They kept their color beautifully, adding visual intrigue to the meal, and tasted a bit earthier than spinach.  Like spinach, they shrink down to literally nothing when heat is applied; so next year, I will be planting plenty more.  Thankfully, they are amongst the few leafy veggies that can handle the unstable spring, summer heat, and cooling fall, but will only be able to eat them as salads since we’ve only got two little plants.

I also didn’t post any photos of the harvested peas; mostly because the harvest was pitiful and what was harvested didn’t even make it to the terrace (I ate them).  Next year, will definitely call for more than 9 crowded plants and they will have to be placed on the cooler side of the  highbed.

As for the summer fruiting plants; the tomatoes are laden but green, the Hungarian pepper managed to hold onto the four pods it’d already developed but lost countless smaller buds & flowers in the last chill, the hot pepper is covered with green pods, and the Zucchini is putting out lots of male blossoms but no females as yet.

I’ve already started making notes and plans for next year’s adjustments and ammendments.  Truthfully, it’s too late in the season to add anything and too early for fall/early winter plants, so my future posts will probably be more food-oriented.  There are a couple of interesting/impactful gardening insights I’ve been reading/reviewing and, if I decide to incorporate any of those tips into my garden,  I will share those with you.  Not to worry, you’ve still got to see the harvest(s) as well, so there’ll be lots of pictures (unfortunately) of self-induced disasters and (hopefully, lol) gorgeous eats!

 

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Weird Gap between Spring & Summer Harvests

  1. Jose Sola says:

    Really awesome looking Chard and your dish is beautiful, love all the color. Definitely can see the Bahamas influence.

    • Hey Jose, sorry for late reply. Thank you for the compliment. 🙂 I was initially drawn to planting Chard because of the color – they’re so pretty and practical! However, some bug is enjoying them before I can; half a leaf disappeared overnight. Oh well, guess I can spare half a leaf to Nature; just hope they leave some for us!

      • Jose Sola says:

        If you see like racetracks inside the leaf those are leaf miners, nasty bugs that hide in between the leaf and eat everything up.
        I cut and dispose of those leaves and then spray the neem oil concoction on the plants.

        Guess what?
        I picked my first three cherry tomatoes today. I guess they miss labeled the seeds as these cherries are the size of plums.

      • Congratulations on the first of the ‘plums’, lol! So far I haven’t seen any of those tracks you mentioned, but I’ll take a look later when it’s cooler.
        I also harvested a couple tomatoes recently from the Ziegler’s Bush Tomato. Like yours, this plant was also mislabelled as it’s just as big as the Black Russian Krim.

      • You won’t guess what it was eating away at my leaves?! A caterpillar! Upon discovering him, I had flashbacks to my lavender that they destroyed year before. Ughh, it’s my own fault for not putting up a net cover I guess. So far, I’ve discovered one & what I assume are eggs; all of which (I hope) are now destroyed.

      • Jose Sola says:

        Ugggghhhhh the bastards! Hate this life stage, no wings all teeth. Neem will work well against them.

      • Lol, I love that – ‘all teeth’! Perfect description!

  2. Pingback: Squeezing the Last out of Spring Harvest and a Warm Chard Salad | A Bahamian In Austria

Leave a Reply

