The Wonder that Seven Days Wrought

The rain started at about 9 am Sunday morning and never stopped.  As a gardner(-in-training), I was overjoyed; until I ran out of watering cans, buckets, and unused decorative plant pots to store water in, lol.  That was when I strongly started considering investing in a rainwater storage unit.

As you might be aware, rainwater is soft and filled with minute minerals that plants love. I’ve been collecting it and watering my seedlings with it for the past month or so and, although I can’t confirm it as the only reason, the plants have thrived and grown incredibly quickly.  Of course, the unseasonably warm weather we’ve enjoyed for the past few weeks may have something to do with that as well, lol! 😉

There have been a few battles; namely, our favorites – Aphids & Snails!  Ahhh, the season has really begun!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Wonder that Seven Days Wrought

  1. jeannie says:

    Aphids are the worst!!! 😦

  2. Jose Sola says:

    Hi, great looking plants! Love the use of containers to grow your garden.
    Not sure how easy it is for you to get these in Austria, but a mixture of 2tbs each Super Neem oil and Dr Broner Sal Suds in a gal of warm water seem to take care of must garden pests if sprayed on leaves. All items are available through Amazon.
    I have not personally used it yet, been lucky so far never had aphids as we have a natural population of hungry ladybugs. I got all of the ingredients and have them ready to use later in the season as I do get powdery mildew on zucchini.
    You can find a lot of great advice in a YouTube gardening channel “growingyourgreens”, one recent episode deals specifically with this, and that is where I got the recipe above.
    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

