Garden Surprises

Last week was full of surprises.  First, you guys have heard me go on and on about how cold it gets here and how I’m constantly bundling up and trying to keep warm.  Frankly, I just don’t have time to be sick; being sick just drains so much energy that I need to funnel into my goals.  So I get super excited when friends send ‘care packages’ with medicines and energy boosters.  Then, I found out my neighbor’s been growing Cerasee next door – my excitement levels just sky rocketed.  My health has been rescued!

What is Cerasee, you ask? Only God’s gift to mankind!  It’s a creeping vine that yields the most bitter leaves and fruits – in fact, that’s actually it’s name in German (Bittermelone) and Britian (Bitter melon).  It grows wild in The Bahamas and I’ve been forced to drink it since I was a kid – this thing tastes NASTY but oh boy, it does the body good!  It’s cultivated in India, The Phillipines (where my neighbors on my right originate), and quite a few other countries.  Each country has it’s own use for it and I can tell you with certainty, it will knock a cold out better than anything else I’ve ever tried.  A quick Google search with either of the names mentioned here yield answers to any questions you might have.

We had a couple consecutive sunny days last week and each day, my mind would wander back and forth between two poles of decision.  The weather forecast for this week (weeks of rain and overcast days) and my own future plans (heading back to school) led me to a decision.  It was time to pull Sweetboy (a pet name that one of my readers’ created for the sweet potatoes – I find it cute).  To keep from being disappointed, I replayed the following mantra in my mind:

  • “The original slips WERE from a storebought potato.”
  • “This is a really small and confined space to grow potatoes.”
  • “They are tropical plants, you’ve barely gotten in the required amount of sun.”
  • “It’s more than possible that they didn’t get enough water when they should’ve and too much when they shouldn’t; so they might be a rotten, mushy mess down there.”

“Oh just shut up already and pull them!”

If you’ve got any experience in gardening, you can probably tell I’m a novice.  I mean, seriously, who other than a novice would plant spinach in May and not expect it to bolt?!  😀  However, this time around, they seem to be doing just fine.

So my friends, that might just be it for any real gardening this year.  As I write this, it’s pouring ‘cats-and-dogs’ outside and it’s cold enough that Fernwärme (the heating company here) has already started pumping heat to buildings.  However, there’s lots of prepping and planning for next year’s garden and I’ll share some of my discoveries with you as I learn.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Garden Surprises

  1. bhoyt10 says:

    Nice sweet potato crop!

  2. I have planted sweet potatoes for the first time this year. I’m quite excited about it because we eat a LOT of sweet potatoes. I have read that you should wait ’til first frost to harvest them and that is likely to be mid October in the middle of North Carolina. But, one of them is already peeking out of the ground and I’m getting antsy. Seeing your harvest is NOT helping my patience. 🙂

  3. Martin Schmid says:

    Hello

    I’m am old austrian frend of your husband thomas!
    Maybe you remember… we were together in schönbrunn 6 years ago…..

    I think it would be nice when we can meet us.

    In deutsch kann ich viel besser schreiben 🙂 vielleicht kansst du es ja thomas lesen lassen.

    Hab dir/euch auf fb eine nachricht geschickt

    Lg martin

  4. londoncab53 says:

    I’ve been looking at your garden photos since you commented on mynorthwestgarden blog. It’s spectacular! You said an “apartment garden” and I pictured a balcony or a very small yard. I’m so happy for you that you have the space you have. I was thinking your weather would be similar to Oregon because England’s is. I guess you are south from there, and I see many things that I can not grow (unless I had a large greenhouse to move them into). Boganvilla being one of them, beautiful, I had one when I lived in San Diego. I also can not grow citrus, avocado or bay leaf.
    Looking forward to seeing your progress and lovely photos!
    Linda

    • Hi, thanks for visiting and commenting. My apologies for a late response, I didn’t realize that I hadn’t responded. My garden is pretty small; thanks to my husband, the layout creates the illusion of a much more spaceous garden. I’m pretty happy about the Bougainvillea as well, but the other trees you mentioned would have to be potted dwarfes that can be moved inside during the winter for them to survive. Obviously with an apartment, we couldn’t have them as there would be no space for us! lol

Leave a Reply

