What ‘Not To Do’ When Starting A Garden.

I’m in the process of planning next year’s garden and came across a list of everything new gardeners tend to do, that they shouldn’t. I’ve definitely made quite a few of these mistakes this year; in particular, ignoring spacing requirements and not mulching.  I’ve watched the earth around my salads & spinaches crack and the seedlings almost immediately shoot up into seed.

Spacing was also an issue, the tomato jungle shaded (more like bullied) the sweet peppers and they never got their fair amount of available sun. If I’d known better, the larger plants (tomatoes and sweet peppers) could’ve taken up the entire bed with the salads and spinachs underneath enjoying all that lovely shade instead of baking in the sun.

Putting them all out too early was another huge mistake.  But it WAS already May and it WAS warm when I planted them. How was I to know it would get cool again and rain for days right after planting?!  Well, now I do.

While a fair amount of produce has been harvested, with the right knowledge, it could’ve been better.  So now that you’ve seen how well not knowing turned out for me – if you’re thinking of starting a garden yourself – you may want to take a peep at the list as well.

Starting a Vegetable Garden, Starting a Garden.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What ‘Not To Do’ When Starting A Garden.

  1. mimie says:

    Well, this year was crazy, you CAN plant things in may and get away with it, I know from experience. June is NOT supposed to be this cold and rainy. But that is part of the garden experience, never knowing what the weather is going to do 🙂 Your garden is wonderful, especially for being the first year!

    • Hey Mimie doll! LOL, this year was crazy but then, EVERY year is a crazy year – nothing ever goes completely to plan; but that’s the fun of it. What I love most about the garden is the opportunity to reflect, learn, and in general, slow down.
      Thanks for the compliment; what til you see next years!

  2. lexborgia says:

    Is there a ‘sweet boy’ status update? Did he survive? Is he in the army now?

  3. Everything looks yummy! Still trying to find the best spots for things myself, especially with the spinach! What a wonderful garden!

    • Hi, thanks for visiting & commenting…and complimenting, lol! I finally got the spinach to behave and produce; it only took me waiting til this spring, lol. They’re now in their own pots shaded by the tree, but I ‘know’ better than to expect to have spinach in the summer. I’m trying to decide between freezing some now or planting more for micro-greens in the summer.

Leave a Reply

