Cooler Days Recipes – Wiener Schnitzel

The sky is starting to take on it’s familiar grey tones, the sun bids us adieu around 7pm, and the chill is starting to set into my bones – ahhh, Fall!  Tights, leggings, long-sleeve shirts, and thinner jackets have already been pulled to help keep warm; but there’s one more trick to keeping warm – heavier cuisine!  It’s actually a little sad to be thinking about warmth in September, but a Wiener Schnitzel can cheer up almost anyone.  It’s also one of hubby’s favorites, so he’s ecstatic.

I can hear you already, ‘what in heaven’s name is a Wiener Schnitzel??’  It’s only the most well-known and loved Austrian dish available!  Originating from the 19th century, no one seems quite sure how it originated.  Some stories indicate that it was brought to the Austrian courts via an Italian count, others state that Austrians have been breading and frying chicken (Backhendl) since the 1700s and it’s simply a twist on that recipe. However it came to be, it was originally made with veal and is a staple in almost every level of restaurant.  Today there are many versions, made with almost every type of meat, and updated in countless ways – example:  the Cordon Bleu Schnitzel.

Seems every country’s got a version of breading and frying meat; probably because it’s quick, easy, and tasty.  For my fellow Bahamians – think cracked conch, replace the conch with a chicken/turkey breast or boneless pork cutlet, and proceed as normal.  For my American friends – think a chicken-fried steak (without the sauce), replace the steak with the before mentioned cuts of meat, and proceed as normal.  Italians, Spain, Switzerland, Greece, France….all have something similiar.  Great, now I’m craving a cracked conch! 😦

The recipe is ridiculously simple, using a mallot, carefully thin the meat to about a quarter inch thickness being careful not to rip it. Season the meat with salt, coat with flour, dip it in eggs, coat it with breadcrumbs, fry, serve with Kartoffelsalat oder Pommes (potato salad or fries), and enjoy.  That’s it.  But you know and I know, there’s no way I’m going to enjoy that; ‘Where’s the flavor?!!’.  So here’s my version.

Malhzeit!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooler Days Recipes – Wiener Schnitzel

  1. JusMe says:

    That looks yummy!

Leave a Reply

