Flowers In My Garden

If you’ve been reading my ramblings for the past year or so, you may have noticed a pattern when it comes to me and gardening – I’m all about what’s edible.  It’s often surprising to others that I have a decided love of food; that is, food that is wholesome, delicious, thoughtful, and well-presented (I’m still working on the last part).  But it’s impossible to go anywhere in Austria without noticing the bounty of flowers.  THEY’RE EVERYWHERE – in windowboxes, on balconies, lining bridges, growing alongside the Autobahn, in offices, and of course, in gardens!

Now, I’m all about what’s edible.  Still, I’m feminine and this eye-candy that so profusely adorns my new country (like jewels on a well-dressed lady) has caused me to develop a bit of Neid (envy).  So I thought to myself, ‘Well, a bit of color won’t rob you of precious planting space; plus they have those edible flowers – those would have a duel purpose in your garden.’  So off I went searching.

I haven’t found edible flowers as yet – and when I do, you’ll be amongst the first to know!  But upon being gifted my first flowering shrub, the Fuchsia, I have managed to add a bit of color to the garden while waiting for my harvest to come in.

Adding flowers, and learning about their upkeep, has added a nugget of understanding about my veggie garden.  Basic fact that just hit me:  plants produce fruit and flowers to spread seeds, not for my enjoyment!  I came upon this gem as I was trying to discover how to get more flowers from my waning bed.  Turns out, I have to ‘deadhead’ them (trim the dead flowers) when the blooms fade or they’ll go to seed and not produce more flowers.  If I snip the dead flowers off, the plant will produce more because it’s ultimate goal is to deposit seeds.  Interesting!

I’ve had a bit of fun identifying the flowers I have, their latin names, and uses; still there’s one that eludes me – came in the mix I purchased.  Click on the photos for a closer look and if you know the name of the tiny purple beauty, don’t hesitate to let me know.  Thanks!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

