Taller Than Me and Taking Over – July Garden Update

The garden has been pretty interesting and self-sufficient this week; giving lots and only requiring daily watering.  Pretty impressive considering this heat wave Vienna wandered into.

Course, summer would not be summer without our annual unwanted guests – mosquitos! They made the terrace just unbearable in the evening; but I got something good for them.  A few strategically placed Marigolds (Calendula officinalis), Lemon thyme (Thymus citriodorus), and English Lavender (Lavendula angustifolia) should ‘fix their business’ (as we say in The Bahamas – means to resolve a problem for good).  Here’s hoping (I’ll let you know how it goes).  If not, they certainly add beauty to the garden and one more herb for my kitchen.

Folks have been asking about the sweet potato experiment; it’s all in there.  Click on the pictures for a slideshow and ‘narration’ of what’s going on.

Hope everyone’s staying cool this weekend!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taller Than Me and Taking Over – July Garden Update

  1. lexborgia says:

    Well done – the Mission is progressing well, but not yet complete, still, I have full confidence in your abilities. Happy gardening.

    • 😀 Thanks for the support! I find our choice of words interesting; for me it’s an experiment, for you – a mission. I’m going to feel like I let you down if it doesn’t come to fruition, lol

Leave a Reply

