Pssst – it’ll all grow in one container!

While surfing through my online magazines, I came across this little tidbit: one doesn’t actually need a garden to enjoy the fruits of summer.   Yeah, ok; I knew that one could use several containers to create what’s called a ‘container garden’ on a balcony or something; but now they’ve downsized yet again.  Introducing: the single container vegetable garden! Single container vegetable garden – Sunset.com.

Everything grows in one (at a minimum) mid-sized container.  Awesome, no?!  It saves cash on various pots or beds not to mention the soil, rocks, liners that are required; to be honest, you can even use a recyclable shopping bag.  It saves precious space on small balconies and patios and it saves time – one spot to water, little chance of weeds getting a foot-hold, and one spot to harvest from.  All while being a really pretty and creative ice-breaker and providing at least one dish to your next get-together.

First shot of my oregano, rosemary, thyme, and chive plants

First shot of my oregano, rosemary, thyme, and chive plants

Here’s my first container garden featuring oregano, thyme, rosemary, & chives.  Had I known 2 years ago what I learnt today, I’d have bought a bigger and prettier pot, added the tomatoes, basil and paprika in with them as well and saved myself more than a few bucks on soil, additional pots, fleece, rocks, etc.  About.com offers a beginner’s guide (click here) with some pretty useful info to consider.

Take a peep and let me know if you’ll give it a go; I’d love to see pictures if you do!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

