An Attempt To Get Around Mother Nature

With fingers crossed & Daumen gedruckt, I’ve planted two sweet potato slips. Conventional wisdom states they most likely will not produce viable crops for a few reasons.
First, sweet potatoes (being a tropical vegetable) need a minimum of 100 days of consistently warm sun. Second, they need a lot of soil within which to develop their tuberous roots. Thirdly, in an attempt to get as many sunny days as possible, I omitted the ‘soaking-the-slips-in-water-to-develop-roots’ step. In my defense, I’ve read that it’s not often necessary. We’ll see how it all turns out.

20130521-161401.jpg

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Attempt To Get Around Mother Nature

  1. Hej from Sweden!

    Very cool! I wish you tons of luck. We get some real beautiful yams in our local markets, so beautiful that I am tempted to try a sweet potato pie. We grow regular white flesh potatoes and cute red potatoes out in our “plantation” my husband’s word not mine.
    I am planning to try and grow mustard greens. Wish me luck!

  2. lorraine moss says:

    Are you growing them inside? Date: Tue, 21 May 2013 14:19:18 +0000 To: elissaph@hotmail.com

  3. lexborgia says:

    I’m curious how that will turn out. I’d say yes, a small potato, not as sweet. Then again, who Knows! European soil does have magical qualities. Good luck.

    • Thanks for the good wishes. However, the cool weather and excessive rain we’ve been experiencing coupled with the irrefutable fact that I can not change the nature and needs of a plant (which happens to be tropical in need of lots of hot summer days); I think this experiment will remain just that. Still I’ll update you when I can actually go outside and check on it.

Leave a Reply

