Wasted Opportunity??

Confession time:  I’m a bulk-shopper and food hoarder, which sadly leads more often to waste of produce than creative cooking.  This is nothing new; a NYC cabbie commented to my husband (as we unloaded his trunk from my grocery shopping trip), “Is she preparing for a hurricane or what?!”  When we were preparing to leave for Austria, I gifted a friend with our unopened oils, pasta, spices, etc to which he commented, “Awesome, now I don’t have to go shopping for at least a year!”

Upon arrival in Austria, I once again bulk-shopped; but it doesn’t work so well here as everything spoils within two weeks.  After removing doors from cabinets, keeping the house as cool as possible, researching the best storage options for potatoes and carrots, only to watch bread and lemons harden, tomatoes wither or potatoes sprout, I’ve adapted to Oma’s shopping style – daily.

Bulk-shopping saves time and money; but not when it contributes to food waste.  So I was really glad to come across quick little article. (Click here: Waste Less)  A few of them I’d already known; like separating apples and bananas from other produce and only washing what you’ll use.  But there are a few other cool tricks that will be employed to save my herbs & lemons.

Now if only someone can give me a trick to keep my potatoes from sprouting so fast; anyone?!

Bad news: there goes the sweet potato puree I was going to make; good news: if I can figure out where to plant it, I may never have to buy sweet potato again!

Bad news: there goes the sweet potato puree I was going to make; good news: if I can figure out where to plant it, I may never have to buy sweet potato again!

These were stored in my dark, relatively cool pantry for about a month and now they’re growing!  I’m researching their planting needs as that might be the only way for me to have them on demand without having to beat the 6pm closing time of the stores here.  Only two negatives to that concept is: sweet potatoes have creeping vines and they need a lot a soil and I have rather limited garden space.  Think I might still try though.

Now it’s your time to confess; what foods do you find yourself tossing in the bin? What food storage tricks help you use more and waste less?

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wasted Opportunity??

  1. Hej from Sweden!
    I too am a bulk shopper. but I have learned to only do items that can be stored well and really last to make my kronor worth spending. Oil, can goods and pasta I buy in bulk, when they are a special price only.I need to have my supply of canned tomatoes or paste for my pasta dishes and I hate to be without. Produce we buy as we need it, except produce for the goats which we buy in bulk when we don’t have it growing on the property. For me, it’s about always having our favorite staples available so we don’t have to shop everyday. But here also, people shop everyday and i prefer not to. We have a huge 8 room basement with one that is our “cold ” room. I have a virtual grocery store there. Spices, condiments, pasts, jams, etc. and 2 refrigerators to hold all the produce for the animals.
    Everyone must adapt to the area where you live, and your needs. Of course my needs have changed but I utilize the same methods I used as a single parent. Enough stored that will remain in tip top condition and minimize waste. Still do that.

    • Hi there, wow; a cold room, awesome! Figured out my pantry (the coolest room in the house) is too warm & causing the tubers to spring. Oh well, planted the sweet potato slips in a ‘let’s-see-what’s-going-to-happen’ attitude.
      Like you, I’ve trimmed my bulk-shopping to non-perishables (oils, pasta, rice, jams, honey, & paper & cleaning products) but my other things like brown sugar, flour,& basically anything un-cured goes bad quickly. My freezer is quickly becoming my best friend, but even it has it’s limits (capacity-wise).
      Thanks for commenting; if you come up with any other ideas, let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

