If It Ain’ Broke, Don’t Try To Fix It!

Here’s a funny story about when being a domestic goddess is thwarted by stupidity.  I can just hear my gran (a true goddess of the household), “If it ain’ broke, don’t try to fix it!”

I received a bounty of beautiful Marillen (apricots) and intended to store them up for enjoyment over the cooler months (Fall – Spring).  Nothing new or adventurous here – people have been preserving food from time began.  Last year, Oma (hubby’s grandmother) blessed me with her tried-and-true recipe which is incredibly simple and effective yet….(here’s where it really began to go all wrong), my simple, creative backside decided ‘Oh look, a shiny new recipe book (two of my weaknesses – ‘shiny’ and ‘books’.); let’s follow this instead!’

Had I thought things out thoroughly, I’d have noticed that Oma’s recipe did not include one of the ingredients the book did.  Had I thought things out thoroughly, I’d have realized that this ingredient was not only unnecessary but would completely change the flavor of the end product.  Had I thought things out thoroughly, I wouldn’t have wasted two kilos of gorgeous apricots, an hour of my time, and countless wattages of electricity, nor would I have been faced with the disappointed look on hubby’s face and the guilt of discarding 7 jars of exquisite yet completely inedible apricot jam (unless your taste for jam runs along the lines of caustically tart – in which case, send me your address and I’ll ship them to you :D).  Yes, they’re still sitting on my kitchen counter reminding me of my stupidity.

My lesson learned: “if it ain’ broke, don’t try to fix it!”  My grandmother used to say that to me all the time – she probably saw this pesky characteristic lurking in my personality from the moment I could speak. 😀  That’s not to say that I shouldn’t continue to evaluate, question, and adjust things in my environment – otherwise, how would we ever have arrived to the current form of life we enjoy today – however; the key word here evaluate.  In this case, I should’ve thought longer about that ingredient, done some research into it’s character, and most importantly, fully understood the process of what I was doing rather than blindly following a ‘shiny, new book’.  That’s another thing my gran used to say “Books can’t teach you everything!” – man, wouldn’t she be ‘laughing her head off’ at me right now!  I’m going to call my mom now and share this hilarious moment; I hope you guffaw as loudly and deeply as we will.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If It Ain’ Broke, Don’t Try To Fix It!

  1. Hej from Sweden!
    Sorry to hear about your beautiful apricots! What a shame , but as you have now learned; “if it ain’t broke, don’t try to fix it” ! This is so true. And it’s also true, you can not find all you need in books. I was just explaining that to a journalist who came to Gullringstorp to interview me on my new business and my goats. There are so many books on my shelves all over my home on soap-making, and on goats. My most important and most valuable lessons have not, however, come from books, They can get you half way there but information passed down from people in the know and your own experiences is what will get you through. I have learned so much, some by trial and error and some by true word of mouth from years of experience. Now what I do both with my goats and my soap making is mine and I say, “if it ain’t broke, I ain’t gonna touch it” !
    What happened to you was just a lesson in life at your apricot’s expense. Now you know and will never change course! Happy canning!

Leave a Reply

