Visit to the United Nations (Austria, Jan 25, 2012)

The week before Christmas, V (British girlfriend) and I stopped into Kleines Cafe for an ‘after-shopping pick-me-up’.  It’s a tiny yet historically-relevant, traditional, Austrian cafe located in the Innere Stadt (1st district).  Settled into our cushioned bench by the recessed bar with our day’s work of shopping bags piled into a corner, we ordered our drinks and excitedly conversed in English about our day. All around us, hushed conversations occurred in German (conversations in cafes are ALWAYS hushed as speaking loudly disturbs other guests).  Perhaps it was the disparity between English and German that caught our ears; however, this innocuous element was the catalyst that led us to meet I – a kind, friendly, helpful gentleman living in Austria, hailing from California.  A few months later, he graciously and personally took us on a tour of The United Nations based in Austria.  Wanna come with?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in Sights and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

