The End-result Will Be Worthwhile

I was reading an article attached to a friend’s tweet today.  The excerpt below explains exactly how I feel in my quest and one of the motivations that keep me going:

 “…the initial years of studying a language are tough: there is no escape from the grind of learning how to conjugate verbs, construct sentences and to absorb enough words to begin to understand what is written and said. To elect to do this, (folks) need to know that, like practising a musical instrument, designing clothes or playing a sport, the end-result will be worthwhile. “

Taken from Why Do We Continue To Isolate Ourselves By Only Learning English? 

The entire article is a worthwhile commentary on literary education exhibited in most English-speaking countries; however, this excerpt spoke directly to me.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in Quest for Independence and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End-result Will Be Worthwhile

  1. this part especially rings true for us Brits:
    “The hangover from Empire and the legacy of great power, along with the comforting reality that the US is English-speaking, deludes us into still thinking that speaking a foreign language is a nice-to-have rather than a must-have asset.”
    We really do isolate ourselves!

Leave a Reply

