Food For Thought

I follow ‘Food Inc’ online and today they brought an article about TV Food Chefs and the industry to my attention.  In New York, hubby and I were avid fans of shows like ‘Iron Chef America’ and ‘Good Eats‘ – rarely missing an episode!  I often turned to ‘Foodnetwork.com‘ for recipes and in fact, still do.  These shows, especially ‘Iron Chef America‘, exposed me to a multitude of new ingredients, applications, and tools.  We particularly enjoyed ‘Good Eats‘ because of the scientific information the host, Alton Brown, imparted.  I still quote Brown’s mantra “Is it a multi-tasker?” before purchasing a new kitchen gadget.

I will admit, that hearing the news that hostess Paula Deen had been afflicted with diabetes, did not really surprise me.  I mean, she IS the ‘Queen of Butter’ – there was even an episode where she was presented with a likeness of herself carved in butter!

If you’ve read any of my food-centered posts, you know I constantly speak about swapping out and using fresh ingredients (when possible), increasing fibre content with additions, and rarely following a recipe as given.  Well, the article “Of Mouselike Bites and Marathons” by  Frank Bruni featured in The New York Times Sunday Review, is one of the reasons why.

Bruni highlights what/how TV Chefs and Food Editors cook for TV or magazines and how that often differs drastically from their personal lifestyles.  And, when they don’t, as in Deen’s case, the well-known yet rarely spoken-of repercussions that are faced. He also brought to attention, the popular and growing reality-TV genre, as he calls it, “jiggle TV” offerings bemoaning the struggle back to health. I found it a bit disturbing when he outlined that Deen was publicly speaking about the disease and was making dietary changes (which I felt would positively affect her fans), but then learned her son had come out with a low-cal book and she was spokeswoman for a new diabetic medicine…Ok then!  I especially connected with Bruni’s statement on the growing chasm between “epicurean counsel” which are front-and-center in the dining pages of magazines and newspapers and “restrained eating” which are relegated to health magazines and media – as if nutritious food could never actually taste good!

This post is not a ‘finger-wagging’ sermon on the ills of butter or fried foods; rather I wanted to share with you an article that, to me, truly is ‘Food For Thought’.  Plus, it helps to explain why I am queen of the swap-out (self-professed)! 😀

I’d love to hear what you think about Bruni’s article – did it shock you or simply confirm what you’ve always thought about the food entertainment industry?

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food For Thought

  1. The media industry like any other is founded on opportunity. I think we (consumers) all are smart enough to know that everything presented to us has to be filtered to accommodate our lifestyle/way of life to work for us. Additionally, butter or all decadent ingredients should not be vilified in and of themselves. We would like to vilify because it takes the burden of responsibility off of us and points same in another direction. We, as consumers have to take full responsibility for what we do or do not in our lives.

    With that said, Paula Deen does not owe the World an explanation as to why she decided to admit she was diabetic. Perhaps timing seems circumspect but we all know that timing is crucial to the success of any project. Certainly, a healthy diet aides in the successful management of the disease but depending on certain variables related to the disease, in some instances diet alone will not help. As for the promotion/endorsement of another diabetic drug…why not. Obviously between the two, drug company and Paul Deen’s Camp, an opportunity presented itself and could prove extremely viable for both. Just business as usual

    As it relates to promoting her son’s new healthy alternative cook book…why not? After all look at Rocco DiSpirito and Mario Mario Batali’s to name a few. They recently lost a lot of weight. As a matter of fact, DiSpirito also has a healthy cookbook out to support his new lifestyle. Like many other overweight successful chefs, she/son are joining the trend bandwagon and offering alternative means to cooking as just another product offering. Once again, business as usual.

  2. Pingback: “They like me, they really like me!” | A Bahamian In Austria

Leave a Reply

