Soup of the Week – Creamy Pumpkin Soup

This week’s soup is one of my favorites which I turn to at least a few times each fall/winter season for three reasons: it’s easy to make, is simply delicious, and like your favorite jeans, is comfy yet easily dressed up.  Yes, I’m straying from the challenge a little – you know, make new soup/stew recipes – but hubby was wanted something homey and known, so out came ‘old blue jeans’.

My idea of a small pumpkin

Ingredients:

1 small pumpkin (skinned, cleaned, & roughly chopped)
1 onion (minced)
1 bell pepper (minced)
4 cloves garlic (pressed)
1 tablespoon tomato paste
3 or 4 cups vegetable/chicken broth  OR vegetable/chicken bouillon and 3-4 cups hot water
½ cup cream/milk
½ teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon thyme
1 tablespoon paprika
3 tablespoons olive oil
salt, black/white pepper, pepper flakes (to taste)

Method:
In a large heavy pot, heat oil on a medium heat; then saute onions and bell peppers until soft.  Add spices (not garlic!*), cook for 3 or so minutes.   Add pumpkin chunks and saute until slightly soft.   Introduce tomato paste and cook for about 5 minutes, stirring to combine.  Add broth or bouillon/ hot water mixture and bring to a boil.  Add garlic, cover pot, and lower heat to a simmer for 20 minutes or until pumpkin are completely cooked.
Remove soup from heat and puree.**  Pour the cream/milk into a bowl and temper*** it by adding a ladle or two or two of the pureed soup.  Pour milky mixture into soup and mix well.  Taste and adjust seasoning to palate.  Makes about 4 or so appetizer servings.

My smooth, silky masterpiece - creamy pumpkin soup with spicy grilled shrimp and pepper flakes!

From here, depending on whom I’m serving, I play around with textures and tastes.  This time I added spicy, grilled shrimp and extra pepper flakes.  On other occassions, a sprinkle of truffle oil, garlic oil, pumpkin seed oil, creme fraiche, sour creme, grilled chicken slices, spicy grilled scallops, or just a sprinkle of black pepper, oregano, thyme, or basil.  It’s really up to you!

Malzeit!

* garlic burns easily and tastes bitter when it does; add it when there’s less chance of it burning.

** Puree: to liquify solids – a regular blender or immersion blender work just as well, the immersion blender is just easier to use.  If using a regular blender, pour away from yourself.  Note: you can burn yourself with either method so take especial care!

***Temper: to cool dairy ingredients to a warm temperature slowly to prevent curdling.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Soup of the Week – Creamy Pumpkin Soup

  1. mj monaghan says:

    Great pictures! Love your blog.

  2. mimie says:

    Yum! I made one today too! With the new blender 🙂

  3. James Farrar says:

    Wow Creamy Pumpkin Soup it is great!!!!!! I could not find your recipe for the spicy grilled shrimp I used my own but would love to try yours.
    God Bless You,
    James Farrar
    Cleveland, Ohio USA

    • Hi James, thanks for reading and commenting – God bless you and yours as well.
      My spicy grilled shrimp is pretty simple – marinate defrosted/deveined/shelled shrimp in lemon/line juice with soy sauce, fresh crushed black pepper, pepper flakes, and a few drops of your preferred hot sauce for about 10-15 minutes. Heat about 2 tablespoons of olive oil (high heat) and grill shrimp until they turn pink. I don’t pat the marinade off the shrimp before I put them in the pan as I want it to ‘blacken’ on the shrimp. Hope you enjoy – Mahlzeit!

Leave a Reply

