Soup of the Week – Turkey Noodle Soup (good for what ails you!)

Recently, I received an email of winter soup/stew recipes and determined I’d try to make one each week. Figured now’s a great time to learn how to do this before the stress of work and family gets in the way.  Turns out, my email came just in time as hubby got the sniffles.  My job as wife encompasses friend, housekeeper, mother, confidant, business manager, secretary (and the list goes on)…but which woman with husband and children hasn’t the same duties and more, right?  So I put on my nurse cap and thought about what would make him feel better – chicken noodle soup!

My ingenious solution for quickly cooling a hot pot and congealing the surface fat - placing it outside in 4°C 😀

The thing about Austria is that EVERYTHING, at one time or the other goes on sale, so folks tend to wait with their purchases (and when in Rome…).  In applying this theory, I remembered that within my freezer lay two turkey wings that I’d bought with the intent of making turkey souse (a Bahamian soup).  What was the point of buying a chicken and making a soup that would feed eight if he’s not going to be here in 2 days (on Monday he’s off again on business to Kiev in the Ukraine)?!  Applying my patented method of ‘never following a recipe directly’, I boiled the wings with chicken broth for about 20 minutes, removed the wings and let the broth cool (easier to skim the fat of the surface). After the broth had cooled and the meat of the wings had been shredded (skin removed), I skimmed the fat (I am SOOO headed to Ikea tomorrow to get one of those contraptions that has a spout at the bottom so you can get at the broth without waiting for the fat to congeal on top) and added diced carrots, onions, and celery with minced garlic, dried oregano, and basil.  Brought this all to a boil and then simmer for 15 minutes and added the turkey and noodles.  Once the noodles were done, I added fresh lemon and served!

Did I choose chicken soup because of its stereotypical cold-fighting elements – you betcha!  But of course, never one to stick to a recipe, I applied some good old-fashioned sense (which seems to be coming at me in memorial droves from my grand-aunt) – use what you have!  Chicken (protein, hence one fowl is as good as another) is purported to sooth and feed a cold (makes sense, energy is required by the body to create enzymes, white blood cells, anti-bodies, and what-not) while the lemon (citric/ascorbic acid) provides Vitamin C which helps build immunity and is an anti-histamine.  Blackpepper is anti-bacterial and removes toxins, garlic is also found to be anti-bacterial and anti-viral. Onions have been stated to be anti-oxident and anti-inflammatory. I know, TMI (too much info) but this is my normal thought-process as it pertains to food.  All I know is after eating and taking his medicine (hey, I’m a foodie not a doctor – of course, he’s on meds!) he felt 100% better and his sinuses were clear.

My 1st soup - turkey noodle soup - delicious, nutritious and cost-effective!

As for me, it was the first part of my Soup-A-Week personal aspiration (as stated on my Facebook page), so I hope you enjoyed part 1 and are participating…which soup are you making this week?

PS. Here’s the original recipe if you’d like to make chicken noodle soup yourself.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Soup of the Week – Turkey Noodle Soup (good for what ails you!)

  1. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff previous to and you’re just too wonderful. I actually like what you have got here, really like what you are saying and the way in which through which you assert it. You are making it enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you. This is actually a wonderful site.

  2. One of my all time special quotes seems extremely fitting here “Success is nothing more than a few simple disciplines, practiced every day; while failure is simply a few errors in judgment, repeated every day. It is the accumulative weight of our disciplines and our judgments that leads us to either fortune or failure.”–Jim Rohn

  3. Wow this is a must read, bookmarking your website now. Please continue to write, your style is very outside the box.

Leave a Reply

