I’m getting there…

The strangest thing occurred to me today; while in the foodstore to buy wine (yup, wine, spirits, and beer are sold in the foodstores here) to go with hubby’s birthday dinner tonight and and approaching the cashier, an old man collapsed in front of me!  As he gasped for breath, I looked around and no one seemed to notice, and without precognition, screamed out, ‘Hilfe, bitte.  Er ist gefallt. Bist deinen Artz?‘ (Help, please.  He fell. Are you a doctor?).  Quickly, two guys rushed over, one already on the phone calling the hospital (I assumed).

As I walked home, it dawned on me that I hadn’t spoken English in my panic, I’d spoken German!  Granted, it wasn’t perfect, but it was understood – and more amazing, I did it without thinking, pausing, or ummm-ing.

While hoping the old man will be alright, I’m kinda proud of myself.  Not for bringing attention to his situation – that’s human nature and courtesy – but for really learning this fascinating new language.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in Quest for Independence and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m getting there…

  1. hi just came upon your blog, sounds like you,re adjusting well to your new environment. good to know that all is good with you will keep in touch…and the weather here is paradisiac you know it!!
    but I wont rub it in

    • Hi Donnalee, thanks for reading. Yes, I’m adjusting just fine and according to Austrians I’ve met, impressively quickly. Yeah, I know the weather’s always sunny in The Bahamas and life is Paradise – enjoy it for me and you! 😀

Leave a Reply

