Unglaublich (German for unbelievable)!

My garden continues to teach and amaze me.  Given that its been 1°C /34°F at night and barely getting up to 12°C/54°F in the day with limited sun, hubby and I had given up on them. Well, despite losing leaves daily, they’re putting out new blossoms and fruit is ripening!  Lesson 1:  Never give up, even when everyone gives up on you!

My indefeatable tomatoes!

Having sniped too many top leaves with flower buds off my basil to use at once, as per normal, I put them in a glass of cold water on the kitchen counter.  When I got around to using them about 2 weeks later, they’d put out roots!  Herbs normally sit in water on my counter without going to root so I think this new development is due to the flowers – given that if basil flowers on the plant it stops putting out new leaves.  Lesson 2: Where there’s a will, there’s a way!

I hadn't the heart to throw them out - let's see how they do in the kitchen.

In other news, the transplanted plants haven’t lost many leaves, drooped, or lost much color so they might be settling in.  I trimmed all the spotted and cold-damaged leaves and all the flowers and buds from the basil to encourage it to put out fresh leaves.  I also ‘mowed’ the chives to encourage fresh new blades.  I’m not sure what’s going on with the jalepenos; when I brought them in there were little buds but that’s always a horrible time to mess with the roots, so I have a feeling they’re going to shrivel and fall off.  Nothing fazes the rosemary and thyme and it seems the oregano decided to take a page from their book.  Lesson 3: Let go and let God!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unglaublich (German for unbelievable)!

  1. There is a lot of “sage” advice in this post! Be blessed Sis.

  2. Pingback: “They like me, they really like me!” | A Bahamian In Austria

Leave a Reply

