Visit to St. Corona

As the weather cools down and I pull out my fall-wear, I’m reminded of how fast the summer flew by and how hot it can get here.  Lucky for me, my MIL if full of ideas of how to beat the summer heat on a budget!  Here’s a few pictures of a trip we took to St. Corona (a ski resort located in Niederösterreich).

St. Corona is small ski-resort about 2 hours south of Vienna with 1903 feet of vertical descent.

Our chariot to the last stop on the mountain.

The view of the village and the surrounding mountains as I ascend St. Corona

The water stored in this reservoir is only used to make snow during the ski season.

After what seemed like 10 minutes on the single-person lift, we arrived at the top. I'm sure the sight of this restaurant on a cold, crisp morning is a welcome sight!

So many options for summer hiking and winter skiing.

Hubby and I pausing for a quick snap before heading down the mountain.

Wandering through the forest brings to mind many of the old children's stories that originated in this country; remember "Hansel and Gretel" and "Little Red Riding Hood"?

On our journey we found mushrooms...

...forest flowers...

...berries for the birds (my MIL was quick to point out that they're poisonous to humans)...

...wild black berries (these I could eat as many of as I could find)...

...and a woodsman's house! Now, I really feel like 'Little Red...'!

As we stepped out of the forest, we were abruptly brought back to the present. There's our restaurant (at the midway point of the mountain) and it's time for lunch!

I enjoyed a Sur Schnitzel and mixed salad. The well-known Wiener Schnitzel is a veal cutlet (but pork or chicken could be used) that is pounded thin, breaded and fried. The Sur Schnitzel differs in that it is made from smoked pork meat and isn't pounded. It was tender, moist, and unbelievably delicious!

Everyone else must have worked up as much of an appetite as I did because they all had Traditional goulasch with Semmel knodel and a sunny-side up egg. Goulasch is like a stew and knodels are boiled bread dumplings.

For desert, Austrian Malakoff Torte, a rich Austrian cake made from hazelnut creme and lady fingers.

In addition to a playground, there are guinea pigs for the kids to feed. How cute are those little babies?! 😀

A quick, fun way down the second half of the mountain - summer sledding! It was kind of like go-carts but down-hill and tons more fun, lol.

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in Sights and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Visit to St. Corona

  1. ML says:

    These pics are absolutely fab! Have you have the time to visit the remains of any concentration camps…that would be my keen interest….

  2. Pingback: If it hurts in the morning, you had fun! | A Bahamian In Austria

Leave a Reply

