Current state (September 2011)

I’m a little worried about my garden today; things are not looking as prosperous.  Recently, the temperatures have dropped drastically; seems fall is upon us.  My sweet peppers have not budded since they gave up their fruit and the leaves are looking rather sad.  I have no idea what to do about it and now that the weather is so chilly, hubby thinks I should just try again next year.

The tomatoes made me very happy because they flowered profusely but now I’m worried that those flowers will be for naught.  The temperatures are in the teens (Celcius) recently and my little darlings like sunny, warm days.  The flowers haven’t even withered and turned to buds yet and the leaves are looking more brown and sparse than lush and green! 😦  Keeping my fingers crossed for just a little warmth and time.

Flowers but will they bear?

My lavender, after blooming, dried out and it took constant vigilance to get a couple of leaves to stay green; I have the feeling that that might be it.

At least its green!

The jalapeno gave up 4 fruit and now is throwing out a ton of leaves – I just don’t know.

What do new leaves mean? Is it going dormant?

The basil is prospering; seems the more I pick and use, the more she provides!  She really knows how to soothe my ego. 😀

Doing their best to make mama happy!

Seems the rosemary, basil, and thyme had a conversation with the objective to keep me from despair.  They’re all doing well despite the drop in temperature and cloudy days.  Then again, they probably overheard me telling hubby that I have to find space in our closet of a kitchen for them this winter.  Still debating whether to transplant them to smaller pots or bring the entire planter in.

Seeking the sun? Note how the stems are all tilted to the left. Those that I'd previously cut in the foreground have regrown, wilted, and regrown depending on how much water they get. Maybe their failure to grow is all my fault!

Apparantely, the oregano and chives are not a part of the herb clique or they didn’t get the memo that the herbs were on a mission to keep me happy, lol.  The oregano is gamely trying to follow the sun which can be seen by the tilt of the stems in one direction.  The chives are more intent on flowering instead of providing nutritious stems for my kitchen, we must have a talk soon!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

