All Things Green and Edible (August 2011)

After the excitement of getting a new apartment, getting a job (hubby, not me 😦 ), furnishing our little kingdom, and finally getting our shipment; I was left with a major void.  I’ve always led a rather busy, fast-paced lifestyle (which is probably why NY suited me so well) so to settle down to a snail’s pace is a bit traumatic; thus, I opted to start a garden.

So one bright, warm Saturday morning, hubby, FIL, and I head off to a garden and pet store.  I choose to only focus on edible plants although so many of our neighbors have wonderful flower pots and gardens; and encountered rows upon rows of herbs, vegetables, and fruit seedlings.  After spending an hour selecting the tomato, sweet pepper, jalepeno, bay leaf, basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, and chive plants that seemed hardy enough to survive my ministrations as well as lavender to keep bugs at bay; the boys (that’s what my MIL and I call our husbands) headed over to the equipment side of the store where they could flex their testosterone.  They spent 45 minutes debating which drainage material was best, how much would be required, which organic soil would yield the biggest produce and again, how much we should buy, the merits of bamboo stakes vs metal ones, and so on.  Finally, we walked out with 3 bags of the most expensive organic soil, 2 bags of stone pebbles and one bag of clay pebbles, an expanse of felt to keep all that expensive soil in the pot but allow excess water through, 3 large rectangular plastic planters (I had to talk them out of the clay versions), the bamboo stakes, and a some gardening tools (watering pot, gloves, and a spade).

Hubby and I spent a fun yet exasperating hour replanting the seedlings into the decorative pots.  With rain on the horizon, we were racing the clock, as I wanted to have them in the ground for their first proper drenching.  Of course, my husband is meticulous and deliberate in everything he does (this man spent 5 mins preparing to cut our wedding cake folks, working out the perfect angle for the perfect slice!) and we didn’t make it; but they caught the second drenching about 30 minutes later.

It took a couple of weeks to figure out the right placement for the plants (i.e. direct sun hours and wind protection).  As with all new things, I paid diligent daily attention for a month, watering every morning and inspecting trunk, stems, leaves, flowers, and soil for any pests (lavender seemed to be doing its job).  I obsessively stalked various websites seeking information about every little change on my plants and how best to care for them.  I even shrugged off hubby laughing and commenting that I’m like those mothers that hold mirrors to their sleeping baby’s face to ensure they’re breathing.  It all paid off, my plants prospered!

First shots of my sweet peppers, tomatoes, lavender, bay leaf, jalapeno, and basil plants

First shot of my oregano, rosemary, thyme, and chive plants

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

