A fresh, filling breakfast

As I mentioned previously, there’s lots of great fresh produce here.  I had a corn (on the cob) left-over from a pack I’d bought and some sausage.  Now, living in the land of the ‘wurst’ (German word for sausage) is not ideal for someone that doesn’t really like it but I figured all those lovely seasonings and its heartiness would make for a great breakfast. Here’s what I created with a few free-range eggs from my FIL, the before mentioned produce, and herbs/produce from my garden.

My version of a frittata.

It’s simple really:  chop all ingredients into bite-sized pieces (mine included corn, sweet pepper, onions, and sausage) and saute.  Its easier if you do this in an oven-proof skillet but my cast-iron was gifted to a deserving friend when we moved (can’t wait to get another!), so I just transferred it to a greased casserole dish. Beat about 2 eggs per person (adding milk/cream/seltzer water, if you choose), season with preferred items (mine included, chives, black pepper, hot pepper, oregano, and thyme) and transfer to casserole dish.  Bake, uncovered, until the egg has set and the top is slightly brown.  Don’t overcook or it will be dry.  Garnish with basil and done.

Malzeit!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in My Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A fresh, filling breakfast

Leave a Reply

