Out on my own

Today I ventured out on my own to see this fabulous city that I live in; actually, my impetus was to meet a new friend for lunch.  However, as I wasn’t accompanied by anyone to get there, I’m claiming it!  I will admit, when it comes to going out and exploring alone, I am all chicken.  I just don’t like it, there’s no one to say ‘Wow, will you look at that!’ or ‘Hmm, its not so different here after all’ or ‘Oh snap, now how do we find our way again?’ and there’s nothing I dislike more than sitting at a restaurant alone.  So, I was more than happy to meet up with my friend, enjoy a great meal and glass (or two) of wine, and loads of conversation.

So we agreed to meet at a restaurant in the Museum Quarters of Vienna at 12; course, when she asked if I was okay getting there I was all bravado, same as when hubby asked me if I was sure on how to get there (as he was strolling out the door at 5am to catch a plane to Bucharest, Romania).  I mean, I lived in New York right, Vienna couldn’t be all that different – except that everything is in a barely familiar language…famous last words! 😀

Now, its really sad to admit this but after checking the subway directions on Google Maps twice before leaving home, following my little blip on my Iphone map app, and having my eyes glued to the station stops posted in the subway…I got lost! 😦  Not a big ‘I’m so on the wrong side of town’-lost, just a ‘I took the train in the wrong direction and didn’t notice for two stops’-lost.  However, I believe I’m due a pat on the back as I did have to change three trains (U6-U3-U2) and I was only 15 minutes late.  Still, I’m pretty proud of myself because I did it and I looked fab doing it too (5-inch heels people!).

After lunch and goodbyes, as my buddy skipped off to her dental appointment, I decided to do a little sight-seeing which turned into window-shopping.  As I was meandering along, I noted how many similarities my new city really had to my old.  I also noted the noticeable differences between the two and I must say, I felt really at home.  I think this going out thing is going pretty good for me. 😀

Like NY, the U-bahn (subway) connects everywhere and like NY, I can still manage to lose my way!

Yellow cabs are everywhere (yay!). Spar is similar to Duane Reade and they are both everywhere in their respective cities.

Just love a sidewalk cafe, it's instant notification that spring has arrived and is just awesome for dining, having a great conversation while lingering over a glass of wine, and of course, people-watching.

Humanic is a pretty cool store for nice shoes and accessories; the aesthetics remind me a bit of Aldo.

Found my new floppy felt hat; only 24€!

Its not so much the ad or the store that caught my attention, but the placement of the poster; honestly, I could be on 42nd Avenue heading for Grand Central right now!

Mariahilfer Straße (Street) in the Museum Quarter reminds me of 5th Avenue near the Guggenheim; although I think Vienna had the idea first.

So after walking 3 blocks in heels (I insist on wearing them and finding the shortest routes) looking for the U-bahn, I realized all I had to do was look for the blue U sign (hey, it is my first time out on my own!).

My next quest, the Museum Quarter; originally the emperor's stables and couch-houses, it now showcases over 20 cultural institutions!

About A Bahamian In Austria

I am a Bahamian woman, married to an Austrian man, who's been freshly transplanted to Vienna. I started writing this blog when a dear friend insisted that I had to write down my experiences. At best it'll update my buddies on my crazy-going-ons and at least, it'll keep me from stalking them online (LOL). I hope you enjoy :D
This entry was posted in Sights and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

